Twilight Ponderings

9 11 2009

10 Days!!!

New Moon Quote of the Day: “Forbidden to remember, terrified to forget; it was a hard line to walk.” –Bella, Chapter 4

REMINDER: Submit your New Moon movie questions to the Official Twilight Saga website between noon today (Monday, November 9) and noon tomorrow (Tuesday, November 10) for Stephenie to answer!!!

Here is a continuation of the post-Breaking Dawn break down my friend and I had for months afterwards. After awhile, we moved away from specifically Breaking Dawn-related topics into the series as a whole, now that it’s complete.

1. It’s ironic that Bella stops visiting Charlie in Forks the year before the Cullens come to Forks. I suppose it would have been weird for Edward to meet Bella when she was like 10…but the wolves imprint on newborns (Jake) and 2 yr olds (Quil)…not fair.
 
2. Steph said the reason Edward skipped Bio the day they were blood-typing was so he wouldn’t be tempted….but wouldn’t it also be because it would be kinda conspicuous that the needle wouldn’t break his skin? That reason makes more sense to me. But what do I know? 
 
3. The whole mess could have been avoided if Edward had just let her become a vamp when James bit her. Of course then there would only be one book….cause even Breaking Dawn wouldn’t be necessary…cause there would be no Nessie…I guess I see why she didn’t go that route…though at the time she wasn’t planning on writing any of the other books. I REALLY would like to see Forever Dawn (For those who don’t know, on her site Steph says that Forever Dawn was the sequel to Twilight that she wrote when she was still just writing for herself). Because if Jake never came on the scene…then what on earth was the plot? She said all the major points of Forever Dawn were in Breaking Dawn…but I just don’t see how she could have had it without Jake. He’s so major in BD. How frustrating. 
 
4. I wonder…for those few days between when she got cut on her 18th bday and when Edward leaves and he was refusing to stay with her at night…was he sitting in her room watching her like he did at first in Twilight? I bet he was. Such an Edward thing to do. Trying to make it easier on her when he left, but making it worse for himself. Sick, masochistic lion. 
 
5. Putting her mortality to a vote is such a Bella thing to do. But what I don’t get is why the Cullens would agree to it. Cause her reason for putting it in their hands was a little fabricated. And who would wanna risk pissing Edward off? I don’t see why they humored her…cause you know Edward came home and let them have it….and poor Emmett lost his tv in the ordeal lol. Plus, it’s not like what any of them said but Carlisle mattered…sooo why not just go to him? Tho he told her at the beginning of New Moon that that was between Edward and Bella lol….but I’m pretty sure that things were different by the end. Obviously Edward wasn’t going to live without her…so they’d just have to go through that again when Bella finally died. Though he’d have a harder time getting away, since Alice would be keeping an eye out the older Bella got. Of course, making him live would be extremely selfish of them…cause he’d be sooo upset. Obviously. I’m not really sure why im going in to all of this…
 
6. Alice and bella never finished the diamond convo (in Eclipse). I guess we’re just supposed to assume that the heart was a diamond? I really wish they’d finished that convo…cause ya know it woulda been funny…especially the following convo between Bella and Edward…
Bella: “this is a DIAMOND?!”
Edward:”You said handmedowns were acceptable.”
Bella: “Are you INSANE?!”
Edward: “You’re overreacting”
….I know she’d never punch Edward in the face…but I bet she would’ve considered it for a split second…and then remembered what punching Jake had done to her hand, and Jake wasn’t even a rock
Edward and Jake made Bella a violent person. Rememeber in Twilight when she figured out Edward let Tyler ask her to the dance on purpose, she felt like hitting something and was surprised because she was normally non-violent. They’re bad influences. Look what became of her – trying to seduce a vampire. Yes, that’s totally unrelated, but I had to fit a quote in there lol.

Thoughts that came up during Steph’s Post-BD interviews

(Stephenie said that if she were ever to continue in the Twilight world, she had other characters she would probably focus on and we decided that the best (and obvious) choices would be Nessie and Jake, or possibly Leah)
 
1. Ok so while the Nessie/Jake thing is cute if you don’t think too hard about it…the facts are that he was in love with her MOM…like, wanted to do her mom…*shudders*…yeah I try not to think about it because they do have potential as a story. But I really love Leah too.
 
(On Stephenie’s Breaking Dawn playlist, she assigns the song My Never by Blue October to Jake during the birth scene.)
2. So listening to My Never and thinking about Jake is making me really dislike Bella. Not in a permanent way…I just really wish she hadn’t screwed him over like she did, now that I like him…it’s funny, I like him like she does. I’m not in love with Jake like Edward, but I’d like Jake to be my best friend lol. I can see the resemblence between her and Cathy from Wuthering Heights now. (Stephenie loosely based all the books on another classic – for Eclipse it was Wuthering Heights – which I feel the same way about as Edward does: I’m not a fan.) I’m glad he got Nessie, because then he got to be happy too 🙂
 
3.  He’s (Jake) perfect for her (Nessie) definitely. That’s the point of imprinting. He’ll be everything she needs. But you know, Edward’s not perfect…he makes mistakes…like leaving in New Moon. Biggest mistake of his long life. BUT what redeems him and makes him ultimately perfect is that he has the best of intentions. Completely and utterly selfless. Which is what matters in the end. You know, I find it funny that he thinks he’s gonna have to grovel to get Bella to take him back…he’s so clueless…though him begging might have been interesting 😉
 
4. I also want to know every song on Edward’s ipod. Or at least the songs he put on Nessie’s, cause those were his faves.
 
5. I STILL cannot believe how much I love Jake now. I’m starting to understand Bella’s dilemma. Before BD I thought she was a complete and utter moron for even considering it. But now…I think I’d work out a way to share. Like Jake said in BD, he could get Bella (or me lol) for the weekends. LOL. So wrong, so right. Edward should get the most time. Cause he’s the sexiest.
 
6. Explanation: When endlessly debating the possibilities for BD in he weeks leading up to August 2nd, obviously the topic of Bella as a vampire came up. We thought it might be creepy, because we hadn’t been in a vampire’s head dealing with the bloodlust and everything before.
 
YEAH I KNOW IT WAS CRAZY WE WERE SO AFRAID THAT BELLA AS A VAMP WOULD BE CREEPY BUT IT TOTALLY WASN’T!! It was actually my favorite part. I think her self-control probably helped a lot though. We should’ve known Steph would find a way around the creepiness.
 
7. Finally, Steph’s explanation (on her site) of how the vampire-human hybrid was possible makes me laugh heartily. She’s trying SO hard to be delicate but it’s SO obvious. *rolls eyes*

“The first seed (no pun intended) was planted when I did Bella’s computer research in chapter seven of Twilight. Bella reads about several real vampire legends—the Danag, Estrie, Upier, etc. In the novel, I only mentioned a few of the many legends I read through. One that I didn’t mention at this point was the entry on the Incubus. The unique feature about that legend was that the incubus could father children. Hmmm, I said, and I filed that kernel of an idea away for later. When I decided to write the first sequel to Twilight (Forever Dawn), I knew it was going to revolve around a hybrid baby from the outset.

When my editor and I decided to go back and really develop Bella’s last year of high school, I did so with the knowledge that it was all going to end up with the events in Breaking Dawn. Everything I wrote was pointed in that direction.

I was always very careful when I answered the “Can vampires have babies?” question, because I didn’t want to say anything incorrect, but I also didn’t want to make the future super-obvious. I focused my answers on the female half of the equation—female vampires cannot have children because their bodies no longer change in any aspect. There is no changing cycle to begin with, and their bodies couldn’t expand to fit a growing child, either. I purposely evaded answering the question, “Can a male vampire get a human female pregnant?” to preserve a tiny bit of surprise in the last book. There were many statements on this subject purported to have come from me, but I never made those comments because, obviously, I knew where this was going.

Now, on to the “how is this possible?” question. First of all, of course it’s not possible. None of this story is possible. It’s a fantasy story about creatures that don’t actually exist. Within the context of the fantasy, however, this is how it works:

Vampires are physically similar enough to their human origins to pass as humans under some circumstances (like cloudy days). There are many basic differences. They appear to have skin like ours, albeit very fair skin. The skin serves the same general purpose of protecting the body. However, the cells that make up their skin are not pliant like our cells, they are hard and reflective like crystal. A fluid similar to the venom in their mouths works as a lubricant between the cells, which makes movement possible (note: this fluid is very flammable). A fluid similar to the same venom lubricates their eyes so that their eyes can move easily in their sockets. (However, they don’t produce tears because tears exist to protect the eye from damage, and nothing is going to be able to scratch a vampire’s eye.) The lubricant-venom in the eyes and skin is not able to infect a human the way saliva-venom can. Similarly, throughout the vampire’s body are many versions of venom-based fluids that retain a marked resemblance to the fluid that was replaced, and function in much the same way and toward the same purpose. Though there is no venom replacement that works precisely like blood, many of the functions of blood are carried on in some form. Also, the nervous system runs in a slightly different but heightened way. Some involuntary reactions, like breathing, continue (in that specific example because vampires use the scents in the air much more than we do, rather than out of a need for oxygen). Other involuntary reactions, like blinking, don’t exist because there is no purpose for them. The normal reactions of arousal are still present in vampires, made possible by venom-related fluids that cause tissues to react similarly as they do to an influx of blood. Like with vampire skin—which looks similar to human skin and has the same basic function—fluids closely related to seminal fluids still exist in male vampires, which carry genetic information and are capable of bonding with a human ovum. This was not a known fact in the vampire world (outside of Joham’s personal experimenting) before Nessie, because it’s nearly impossible for a vampire to be that near a human and not kill her.

I didn’t get into all of these details at my signings because it’s a long, complicated mouthful. Also, it’s hard to be clearly heard with all the screaming. Mostly, though, I waited to do this in writing because I have an immature, Homer Simpson-like tendency to giggle when I say the words “seminal fluids” in public.”

This is why we love Twilight – there is SO much to discuss. We can never know enough about these characters we love so much. How about you guys – what questions do you still have? What aspects would you like to know more about? Discuss in the comments! And, as always, follow on Twitter!

TwiLove,

My Never

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

