Cullen Lovin’ Part 3: Emmett Cullen

6 11 2009

13 Days!!!

New Moon Quote-of-the-day: “Emmett, Edward’s playful bear of a brother, I did miss. He was in many ways just like the big brother I’d always wanted… only much, much more terrifying.” –Bella, Chapter 1 (Fitting, no?)

Reasons to Love Emmett Cullen

1. He’s like a giant, hard-as-a-rock, strong-as-hell teddy bear.

“SHEESH, EDWARD! GET A GRIP! Emmett shouted at me in his head. His hand came down on my shoulder, holding me in my seat before I could jump to my feet. He rarely used his full strength — there was rarey a need, for he was so much stronger than any vampire any of us had ever encountered — but he used it now. He gripped my arm, rather than pushing me down. If he’d been pushing, the chair under me would have collapsed.” (Midnight Sun, Chapter 3)

“If you’ve ever seen a bear attack on television, you should be able to visualize Emmett hunting.” –Edward, Midnight Sun, Chapter 11

2. He’s the big brother we all wish we had.

“Rosalie was a pain, but I would always owe her one for choosing Emmett; no one had a better brother than mine.” –Edward, Midnight Sun, Chaper 12

He’s teasing…

“You haven’t changed at all. I expected a perceptible difference, but here you are, red-faced just like always.” –Emmett, New Moon, Chapter 1

“You’re monopolizing the bride. Let me dance with my little sister. This could be my last chance to make her blush.” –Emmett, Breaking Dawn, Chapter 4

“Maybe you’re not as scary as you think you are,” Emmett said, chuckling. “I bet I could have frightened her better than that.” –Emmett, Midnight Sun, Chapter 2

He’s protective…

“Rosalie and Emmett led the way, Emmett looking ridiculously like a bodyguard in the middle of hostile territory.” — Edward, Midnight Sun, Chapter 2

He’s playful…

“Emmett and Jasper were not above taking advantage of my distraction to bombard me with slushballs.” –Edward, Midnight Sun, Chapter 2

“”Human, you say?” Emmett asked.

He held up his right fist, twisting his fingers to reveal the snowball he’d saved in his palm. Of course it had not melted there. He’d squeezed it into a lumpy block of ice. He had his eyes on Jasper, but I saw the direction of his thoughts. So did Alice, of course. When he abruptly hurled the ice chunk at her, she flicked it away with a casual flutetter of her fingers. The ice rococheted across the length of the careteria, too fast to be visible to human eyes, and shattered with a sharp crack against the brick wall. The brick cracked, too….

“Very human, Emmett,” Rosalie said scathingly. “Why don’t you punch through the wall while you’re at it?”

“It would look more impressive if you did it, baby,”” (Midnight Sun, Chapter 2)

He acts like a 2-year-old sometimes…

“I heard Emmett grumble. He always got frustrated when Alice and I had these kinds of conversations.” –Edward, Midnight Sun, Chapter 4

“Oh, hey Edward!” he shouted back, grinning and waving at me. The bear took advantage of his distraction to rake its heavy paw across Emmett’s chest. The sharp claws shredded through his shirt, and squealed across his skin. The bear bellowed at the high-pitched noise. Aw hell, Rose gave me this shirt! Emmett roared back at the enraged animal.” (Midnight Sun, Chapter 7)

“”A few minutes later, Emmett jogged over to where I was waiting for him. His shirt was destroyed, torn and bloodied, sticky with sap and covered in fur. His dark curly hair wasn’t in much better shape, He had a huge grin on his face.

“That was a strong one. I could almost feel it when h clawed me.”

“You’re such a child, Emmett.”” (Midnight Sun, Chapter 7)

 3. He’s competitive as hell and more than a little feisty.

“Aw, what a waste. And here you’re probably the one person who could take him – since he can’t get in your head to cheat – and you had a perfect excuse, too. I’ve been dying to see how he’d do without that advantage.” –Emmett (to Bella), Breaking Dawn, Chapter 22

“I’m not going down without a fight.” –-Emmett, Breaking Dawn, Chapter 29

“Emmett was fuming over a wrestling match he’d lost to Jasper during the night. It would take all his limited patience to make it to the end of the school day to orchestrate a rematch. I never really felt intrusive hearing Emmett’s thoughts, because he never thought one thing that he would not say aloud or put into action.” –Edward, Midnight Sun, Chapter 1

“We all hated gym, Emmett especially. Throwing games was an affont to his pesonal philosophy.” –Edward, Midnight Sun, Chapter 11

4. The boy knows how to make a dirty innuendo.

‘Bout time somebody scored around here.” –Emmett, Breaking Dawn, Chapter 25

“I’m sure you’ll ace your classes… apparently there’s nothing interesting for you to do at night besides study.” –Emmett (to Bella), Breaking Dawn, Chapter 25

5. In the throes of passion, he tears down houses.

You know you wanna tap that.

“So it’s still standing? I would’ve thought you two had knocked it to rubble by now. What were you doing last night? Discussing the national debt?” –Emmett, Breaking Dawn, Chapter 25

“You gonna back down so easy, little sister? Not much wild about you, is there? I bet that cottage doesn’t have a scratch. Did Edward tell you how many houses Rose and I smashed?” –Emmett, Breaking Dawn, Chapter 26

6. The entirety of Midnight Sun.

There’s also an Twilight outtake on Steph’s site that has a hilarious Emmett moment.

7. Nothing ever bothers Emmett.

“As we walked in, Emmett ambled through the kitchen door, seeming perfectly at ease. Nothing ever bothered Emmett.” –Bella, Eclipse, Chapter 12

“”Ease up, Edward,” Emmett said. “Honestly. So you kill one human. That’s hardly the end of the world.

“You would know,” I murmured.

Emmett laughed. “You’ve got to learn to get over things. Like I do. Eternity is a long time to wallow in guilt.””  (Midnight Sun, Chapter 2)

“What’s the big deal?” Emmett disagred. “Either he will or he won’t kill her. Might as well get it over with, either way.” (Midnight Sun, Chapter 5)

“Emmett didn’t hold grudges, and I probably ought to be more grateful for his easy going nature.” -Edward, Midnight Sun, Chapter 3

“I’ll say,” Emmett agree. His voice was still close to laughter. Trust Emmett to find the joke in the destruction of my life.” –Edward, Midight Sun, Chapter 4

8. He loves his wife, no matter how crazy she acts (We’ll be showing some Rosalie love tomorrow ;-))

“Emmett and Rosaie were oblivious, having another of their moments, gazng into each others’ eyes with wonder — it was ather disgusing to watch from the outside.” –Edward Midnight Sun, Chapter 3

9. He’s hilarious.

“I’m really glad Edward didn’t kill you. Everything’s so much more fun with you around.” –Emmett, Eclipse, Chapter 4

“Nice to have toddlers guarding the fort.” –Emmett (about Jake and Seth), Breaking Dawn, Chapter 11 
 

“Damn, kid, you’re a mess, Emmett added, sympathy in his tone.”  Midnight Sun, Chapter 3

“Who are you and what the hell have you done with my brother?” —Emmett (to Edward), Midnight Sun, Chapter 12

10. Have you SEEN Kellan Lutz?!?!?!

They could not have possibly gotten a better Emmett. And he’s hott. That’s right – with 2 t’s.

kellan

And he’s hilarious (just like Emmett):

Well, there’s some Emmett Cullen-Lovin’ for your drooling pleasure 😉 What did I miss? Tell me in the comments! Come back tomorrow for some Rosalie Hale Cullen-Lovin’!

As always, follow on Twitter!

Cullen Love,

My Never

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

