Breaking Dawn (Breaking Headboards)

22 10 2009

SPOILER ALERT – if you haven’t read Breaking Dawn (or Eclipse), don’t read this post (go read the books instead ;-))!

 

The final epic installment of the Twilight Saga caused a lot of controversy. Some fans loved it, some fans were like “what the hell?!” and some where a little bit of both. I was the latter. I actually saw Renesmee coming because my friend and I spent a month before the book was released debating every possible outcome (especially once the quotes-of-the-day started). However, I did NOT see Jake’s imprinting or the graphically violent birth scene coming. Breaking Dawn was intense (but that might have been because it was 4 am and I hadn’t slept in over 24 hours).  When I first got to part two and realized it was from Jake’s point-of-view I was NOT a happy fanpire. But, as I read, I realized Stephenie is, as I should have already known, a genius. Breaking Dawn changed a LOT of this and definitely took some getting used to, but I definitely love it as much as the rest of the series (Except for Midnight Sun. I love it the most, even if it is only 12 chapters *insert sobs here*).

For one thing, the first 3 times I read Twilight through Eclipse (before Breaking Dawn came out) I hated (HATED) Jacob Black. I hoped he would stay gone after he left in the prologue of Eclipse. He was a meddling little brat that hated the man vampire I loved and caused him unneccessary pain PLUS he damn near broke up Bella and Edward which was UNacceptable. Especially in the (2nd) Eclipse scene where the immature little brat threatened to let himself be killed if Bells didn’t kiss him…I wanted to ring his wolfy little neck. Buuuuut, then came Breaking Dawn. I saw inside Jake’s (notice the name change here…I’ve started calling him by Bella’s nickname for him…I can’t help it. I’m Bella. *cough*I wish*cough*) deliciously snarky head and saw that he was actually a sweet and funny guy who was trying to save the life of the girl he loved. I started to feel for him the way Bella did – still definitively Team Edward, but Jake had weaseled his way into a soft spot in my heart. Then, when I went back and reread the rest of the series (especially New Moon) I discovered that all of the things I hated about him before were kinda endearing and understandable all of a sudden. Steph has MAD skills. I think she did this on purpose. I had watched a lot of interviews where she expressed his displeasure over the Jacob-hate and said that apparently no one but herself understood the way his (hilarious) mind works. So what does she do? Gives us a whole big section full of fabulous Jake-snark. I was upset at first, but by the end, I was hella glad that I did NOT have to read that particular part from Bella’s point-of-view. It was stressful enough from Jake’s pov. Like I said, Steph’s brilliant. My friends each texted me when they got to section 2 going “WHAT?! She’s switching narrators?!?!?!” and each time I assured them that they just needed to have a little faith in our Twi-goddess’s infinite wisdom. And each time, they ended up agreeing with me.

Something else that took some serious getting-used-to in BD was Bella as a wife/mother/vampire. Like many Twilight fans, I am none of those things. I had been able to thoroughly relate to Bella throughout the rest of the series (so clumsy I’m almost disabled? Yep.) but all of a sudden, she was someone I didn’t know. She matured about 20 years in the course of a few hundred pages. It was disorienting to say the least. I couldn’t relate to her new maternal instincts. I still can’t, but I got past the inital confusion and got to know the new Bella and I gotta say, I love her just as much as the old Bella. I still have a really hard time going back and forth between the first three books and Breaking Dawn though. Each time, I have to readjust to Bella’s two different incarnations, because they are definitely distinct. I find Bella’s whole character development over the course of the series as quite striking. Rarely do you get to see that kind of evolution in one character in a short series.

Edward also changed for me in Breaking Dawn. After Renesmee’s birth and Bella’s change, when he had everything he’d ever wanted and no longer had to worry about Bella constantly, he became a lot less mysterious (which, let’s face it, is a huge part of his appeal). When he knew Bella was hiding something from him and didn’t question her about it I was very much like “What? Edward-the-curious would NEVER let something like that go!” It was really strange for me. But I do feel like he got a lot of that (and his stubbornness :-)) back over the course of the Volturi/Apocalypse plotline, thank God Carlisle. Edward’s called “the perfect man(vampire)” a lot, but I don’t think that’s true because that would be sooo boring! He can be stubborn and grumpy, overly curious and frustratingly incomprehensible – and that’s a big part of what I love about him.

What do you guys think about all of this? Did BD change your feelings for Jake? Was Bella’s transition hard for you? How ’bout Edward’s unassailable mellow-ness? I’m really interested to see if I’m alone in these feelings! Be sure to comment and don’t forget to follow the blog on Twitter or find it on Facebook! Spread the word – tell your TwiFriends about this blog!

As always, lots of TwiLove,

My Never

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

